bckh

From Procrastination to Completion

Day 351 Friday August 10, 2012

Posted by Beatrice on August 10, 2012


Reading the tabs titled “An Introduction”, “Background” and “About” will help you know what this blog is about. You can track my 11-point star quilting project progress from day one to today.

 Date: Day 351 Friday August 10, 2012

How to find the number of days:

8/26/2011    http://www.timeanddate.com/date/duration.html

Project Accomplishments: None on 11-point star quilt project, except for the want to get back to it but other jobs seem more pressing at the moment–DITTO TODAY

Over the past few days, after returning from 5 days in Minneapolis, MN, I had catch-up work to do but also worked on the bridge as H schedule and time permitted. On the bridge, we marked the locations of all the post brackets and lag screwed all 14 in place. That was a big job done and now the brackets are on both the left and right bridge beam.

A son will be here for a triathelon on Saturday and he hopes to help with some of the bridge building. I hope the weather cooperates. He comes from a long distance. If weather does not cooperate, we will totally enjoy his company and visit.

Books:
Author:
Book Comments:
Exercise:
Tools:
Observations: I think my motto is, “Everything takes longer than you want it to take.” I stand by that 99% of the time. Yesterday was an exception. I wanted some postcards printed and took my files to the printer expecting to pick the job up the next day and I left with the cards. I would recommend their new business because of the service and speed. Check out www.lansing-mi.intlminutepress.com for your printing needs.
Prayer: Lord, as the song puts forth, just “lead me and guide me along the way.” I need so much of that you are the only one to know how much.

Diversions:  Today began by listing steps to take to continue putting the bridge together. I listed 13. I would (with H) be out there today working on it but for the rain. It is rain we very much need but I do hope it clears off so we can at least go set up for the next steps. I figured out how many screws are needed for the next two steps. They are expensive stainless steel but won’t rust in the weather. There are 112 1-1/2″ and 192 2″. H picked them up this morning.
_______________________________________________

I have a good start on the 11-point star project and simply need to dedicate time to it. – The design for this  project, completed on October 8, 2009, was the primary topic for beginning my 2011 blog and I worked on it until various diversions took me to other arenas. Some of those follow:

  1. My granddaughter and grandson requested stuffed toy chickens. I purchased the supplies, have five cut out and have three nearly completed and parts of the others ready to sew once I change thread colors on my machine. This began February 19, 2012 when my visiting grand children requested this. finished  five large chickens. Of those 2 were brown, 2 were white and 1 was a pink and purple print. This project also included six small yellow chicks and 8 plastic eggs. I completed this project on Friday July 20 and mailed them out on Saturday July 21. Yipee!
  2.  My Grandson requested  a quilt. I made the pattern for the quilt but have to print it.
  3. Help husband build a 27-foot long bridge across a creek. This project began 4/6/2001 when we purchased a magazine featuring a small attractive bridge.
  4. The making of a 50th anniversary double wedding ring quilt for my sister and her husband. I purchased some of the fabric and ordered the remaining. Ordering took place on July 16, 2012. The quilt needs to be done by the first of November, 2012. I scheduled machine quilting already. On
  5. I purchased machine embroidery designs to make a machine embroidery quilt and tested the designs on scrap fabric. I was unable to find the fabric I had in mind so this project has been waiting for “inspiration” to arrive. I purchased the designs on February 5, 2011. On July 16, I ordered some of the supplies to proceed with this project.
  6. I started another book quite a while ago I sent a book proposal to a company in 2008, which was rejected so I set it aside while deciding if I could self-publish the topic and make it a popular subject for quilters. The materials sit in a project box.
  7. While in Paducah, KY, in April 2012, I purchased supplies to make a cloth purse. I have yet to start this. The materials sit in a project box.

 I can probably come up with more but should probably organize these by date or importance and probably put my grandchildren first. The chickens should be easy to finish. The 50th anniversary quilt should be next.

Leave a Reply

 
