bckh

From Procrastination to Completion

327 Days from Thursday January 12 2012 to July 17, 2012

Posted by Beatrice on July 18, 2012


Reading the tabs titled “An Introduction”, “Background” and “About” will help you know what this blog is about. You can track my 11-point star quilting project progress from day one to today.

 Friday August 26, 2011 (the beginning) to Tuesday July 17, 2012 is 327 days

 Date: 188 Days from Thursday January 12 2012 to Tuesday July 17, 2012
Project Accomplishments: none on 11-point star quilt project –  I did however complete some projects.
Books: I listened to a number of books but since it has been so long, I will start anew on future books.
Author:
Book Comments: 
Exercise:
Tools:
Observations: It takes perserverence to stay on the track you clink to.
Prayer: Thank you, Lord for guiding my Big Color Wheel Combinations Handbook project. Without your guidance, I would not have accomplished this feat. My petition is that this work be an asset and aid to people who purchase it. May what I put together help me to contribute positively to the live of people who use this reference book. You know it is about harmonious color combinations and you are the one who brightened our lives with color. May we always recognize and appreciate what you have provided for us and be thankful for the beauty you have put into our world. Amen
Diversions: Four months 18 days or 20 weeks,…that is how long my procrastination site lasted. Now if I had worked on my unfinished project, the eleven-point star, which I was blogging about, instead of starting another project, I expect I would have had the original blogging project done. However, another project got in the way. It seems never to fail. Something more interesting, more promising, more pressing, more pleasing, more challenging…… takes precedence.

 

 What is it that took over? Why did I stop writing my procrastination blog?

Sometimes I weigh which finished project is more valuable. I weigh what the likelihood of success. Some times value in terms of interest, accomplishment, expected reward, prestige, longevity or dollar income .can dictate which gets set aside and which gets finished.

What was it that I did finish? I looked back in my “diversions” division of my blog and on October 7, 2011, I first mentioned it. I put together a color wheel permutation notebook for teaching purposes. That was the beginning of a 148-page book on color that I developed into a commercial product. On July 16, I mailed the first copies of the pre-publication orders. It felt good to accomplish that.

From the beginning of my blogging (August 2011) until I ended blogging January 2012, I included a daily prayer for thanksgiving or petitions. See above for my day’s prayer.

Leave a Reply

 
