bckh

From Procrastination to Completion

Day 25 Tuesday August 23, 2011

Posted by Beatrice on August 28, 2011


Date: Tuesday August 23, 2011

Project Accomplishments:  Researched whether I could get Paper Solvy in larger sheets it was not available. I glued two pages together (see observations below) and printed four pages with three patterns on each page. Finished Fray Checking remaining fine star point fabric pieces. I began placing pieces on pattern in preparation for sewing and did sew first two parts on. Then I decided to sew on reverse side of pattern as Paper Solvy was not as transparent as tracing paper and I could not see the sewing lines through to the back. Tomorrow I will remove stitches and re-do those parts. Fortunately, the seams are just a few stitches long.

Book:  Title: #5 Bridge of Sighs

Comments: disc 6 and 7

Exercise:  Walked on treadmill for 10 minutes.

Tools:  Paper Solvy water-soluble Stabilizer by Sulky

Fabric Glue Stick by Prym (Dritz)

Observations:  I need 8 ½” by 14” paper to print the fine star point patterns. The Solvy paper is 8 ½” by 11” and not available larger. I tested taping two sheets together, trimming them to size and then printing. The ink smeared on the tape and I did not want to deal with getting tape off later. To get past this, I used a water-soluble glue stick and, overlapping two sheets of paper by about ½”, glued two together. I then trimmed the page to 14” long. I dry ironed the glue seam to e sure the glue dried.  On my printer, they printed fine. For fine work I prefer the Sew Line glue stick, it is smaller, neater and smoother but for this application I used the Fabric Glue Stick because it is wider.

Prayer: Ask and you shall receive, knock and it shall be opened. I pray that I will always remember to talk to You, Lord and keep a dialogue going.

Diversions: Carol is bringing her quilt over so I can take it to MSU tomorrow to have it photographed for Marsha MacDowell. I visited with Carol. I practiced church music. I made a batch of Czechoslovakia cookies. I have a ‘greet new members’ Lansing Area Patchers guild meeting tonight. I just signed up to

Leave a Reply

 
