bckh

From Procrastination to Completion

Day 21 Friday August 19, 2011

Posted by Beatrice on August 28, 2011


Date: Friday August 19, 2011

Project Accomplishments:  I began to cut pieces for fine star points. I cut fuchsia, black and gray diamonds. To be sure paper pattern works, I needed to test the paper-piecing pattern which I drew and printed yesterday. In the afternoon, I did try testing pattern with some of the fabric pieces I cut. I discovered the pattern I designed yesterday would not work!

I looked through the patterns I printed back when I tested the fine point assembly quilt some time ago; I had a paper-piecing pattern designed back then. After looking at it, I decided it would work. I began again making another sample star fine point section. By that time, I got to this it was suppertime.

I wasted some time and fabric today. I needed 22 dark gray pieces and I cut 44. I needed 44 fuchsia pieces and guess I projected that number on to the gray parts. Bummer!

Book: finished Lost City discs: 9 through 11

Book Comments: I like books where I learn something new and that contain mystery, intrigue and some romance while being entertaining. This book is a science fiction adventure where the reader cannot trust the technology that the narrator is presenting. The quest for mortality, as described in this book, remains elusive. I got “tired” of the book.

Exercise:  Walked on treadmill for 15 minutes

Tools:  no new ones

Observations:  I have observed this before and it bears putting it into words. When you start a project and then put it away for a long period, you have to brush up on where you were and re-learn what you learned back then. It is much more efficient to stick with a project and figure out the “how to” as you go through the project. In other words, persevere.

Diversions: Got a birthday gift (online) for grandson Collin who will be eight on Monday

Leave a Reply

 
